Five of Cups - Loss and Grief

Five of Cups - Loss and Grief


The Five of Cups symbolizes loss, disappointment, and emotional pain. It depicts a figure mourning over spilled cups, with two remaining cups standing upright behind them. Explore the profound meanings of this card and discover how to navigate through moments of grief and sorrow.


The Five of Cups portrays a figure standing with their back turned to two remaining cups, while three spilled cups lie on the ground. The scene evokes a sense of sadness and despair, symbolizing the pain of loss and disappointment.

Card Description

The Five of Cups represents a time of mourning, regret, and emotional pain. It signifies the need to process and heal from loss and disappointment, while also recognizing the potential for renewal and growth.

General Meaning

In readings, the Five of Cups encourages us to acknowledge and express our feelings of sadness and grief. It reminds us that it's okay to mourn our losses and disappointments, but also to recognize the potential for healing and renewal that lies ahead.

Loss and Regret

The Five of Cups invites us to confront painful truths and release pent-up emotions that may be holding us back. It reminds us that healing from loss and regret requires us to acknowledge our pain and work through it with patience and self-compassion.

Renewal and Growth

In matters of renewal and growth, the Five of Cups suggests that while pain and sorrow are inevitable parts of life, they also offer opportunities for growth and transformation. It encourages us to seek support from loved ones, therapy, or other healing modalities as we navigate through difficult times.

Reversed Meaning

When reversed, the Five of Cups may indicate a period of acceptance and forgiveness after a period of mourning and regret. It suggests that we are beginning to find closure and acceptance regarding past hurts, allowing us to move forward with greater clarity and emotional resilience.

Reflective Questions

  • What losses or disappointments are you currently grappling with?
  • How can you honor your feelings of sadness and grief while also taking steps towards healing and renewal?
  • What support systems or coping strategies can you turn to during times of emotional distress?


The Five of Cups reminds us that loss and grief are natural parts of the human experience. By acknowledging our pain and allowing ourselves to grieve, we can begin the process of healing and renewal. May the Five of Cups inspire you to embrace your emotions with compassion and courage as you navigate through life's inevitable challenges.

Back to blog